We specialize in high-precision simulation software for lithium-ion-batteries. For any lithium-ion-cell we create physical models and demonstrate global validity. We call our models Batemo Cells. They help to solve central challenges of battery system development. Typical design questions that can be quickly answered include:

  • Which cell technology is most suitable for a specific application?
  • What does an optimal pack design look like?
  • Which operational strategy extends the lifetime of the battery?
  • How can innovative fast charging methods be developed?
  • How can safety be guaranteed in complex systems, under all circumstances?

TECHNOLOGY

Batemo Cells are based on the fundamental idea of precisely describing and virtually reproducing all relevant processes in lithium-ion-batteries. This is very complicated: physical, chemical and thermodynamic processes are coupled in complex ways, depending on operating conditions and age. Everything happens simultaneously and runs on different length and time scales: from electrode particles just a few micrometers in size, up to processes in the centimeter range of cell and pack size. Some processes take just milliseconds, others need months.

­

Our customers receive our Batemo Cells for their familiar development environment. Through optimized parameterization methods, we easily and quickly create Batemo Cells for customer-specific cells and demonstrate validity. With a flexible interface and simulation times of seconds, the Batemo Cells integrate seamlessly into our customers’ industrial research and development processes.

physical
cell models

Batemo Cells do not simply imitate cell behavior, but precisely describe all relevant physical processes, even under extreme conditions where conventional models fail: under high currents, at low state of charge, and within the entire temperature range.

customer-specific
parameterization

We parameterize every Batemo Cell quickly and easily, specifically for the customer’s cells.

proofed
validity

Research and development in industry can only rely on simulation-based processes if the underlying models are valid. That is why we always prove the validity of our models for customers’ cells and perform extensive measurements to quantify model accuracy.

extensive
analysis

Batemo Cells provide highly relevant information for battery system development that cannot be obtained in other ways. Examples include the temperature and state-of-charge distribution of the cell or the half-cell potentials. Knowledge of these quantities enables targeted prevention of aging, such as by lithium plating.

different
aging mechanisms

Batemo Cells consider different aging mechanisms and are able to realistically predict the behavior of aged cells.

easy
handling

Working with Batemo Cells is easy and intuitive. A graphical interface allows the battery expert, the system engineer, and the intern to efficiently answer complex questions.

flexible
interface

The integration of Batemo Cells into the development environment of our customers is straight-forward. Using flexible interfaces, initial and boundary conditions can be specified as desired. Thus, Batemo Cells allow a wide variaty of simulations.

short
simulation times

Batemo Cells run on normal office computers within seconds. Waiting for battery simulation results is a thing of the past!

ADVANTAGES

As a start-up company, we work for select leading customers in Germany. Our customers use our Batemo Cells as virtual batteries and save time-consuming and lengthy measurements. Their battery system development becomes model-based, making it faster, safer, more flexible, and leading to better products. This is how we contribute to the success of our customers.

enhance
technology

With Batemo Cells, the innovation potential of new ideas can be easily evaluated and complex functions can be developed much quicker. This is how our customers enhance their technological leadership.

increase
safety

Our customers monitor their batteries during operation. They develop the safety features with Batemo Cells, detect critical conditions early, and design efficient strategies to ensure safe operation under all conditions.

develop
charging methods

Fast battery charging is used in many applications, where the batteries must not be damaged. Our customers develop minimal-aging, fast-charging methods for their battery packs using our Batemo Cells.

cope with
complexity

Battery packs are often used in a variety of products with different chargers. Using Batemo Cell simulations, our customers can ensure overall compatibility.

increase
market share

Our customers are introducing new technologies to the market. The Batemo Cells help to bring high-quality, innovative ideas to the market very quickly. Key product features can be improved and differentiated from competitors, leading to increased market share.

speed up
testing

Batemo Cell simulations are significantly faster than real-time laboratory tests. Our customers perform comprehensive, simulation-based test scenarios with single cells, battery packs, or total systems in a fraction of the time.

minimize
risk

With Batemo Cells, single functions or subsystems can be thoroughly tested in the early stages of the development process. Our customers detect design errors early on and significantly reduce the failure rate of their design and production validation.

reduce
cost

Batemo Cells reduce the cost of battery system development in many ways. For instance, our customers reduce expenses on prototyping, avoid performing extensive lab measurements, and decrease their development time.

Alterung verhindern

Know-How ausbauen

innovative Ladestrategien entwickeln

komplexe Systeme beherrschen

max. Performance ohne Sicherheitskompromisse

neue Funktionen entwickeln

automatisiert und schnell testen

Entwicklungszeiten und -kosten senken

COMPANY

Batemo GmbH was founded and self-financed by Dr.-Ing. Michael Schönleber and Dr.-Ing. Jan Richter in Karlsruhe, Germany, in March 2017. The founders:



Dr.-Ing. Jan Richter studied electrical engineering and information technology at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). He focused on electric mobility and the fields of electrochemical energy storage, power electronics, and electrical machines. During his studies, he spent half a year working in the Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics in China and for Mercedes-Benz Research & Development North America in the USA.
He completed his doctorate at the Institute of Electrical Engineering (ETI) at KIT, graduating summa cum laude, on modelling, parameter identification and control of highly-utilized synchronous machines. He received the PCIM Young Engineer Award for his research. As part of his activities, he developed a model-based development tool for power electronics and electrical machines for a Tier-1 automotive supplier. During his undergraduate and graduate studies, he received a scholarship from the Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes.


Dr.-Ing. Michael Schönleber studied electrical engineering and information technology at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). He specialized on electrochemistry and system theory, with a focus on lithium-ion-batteries. At the end of his studies, he worked for Robert Bosch LLC in the USA for one year and developed algorithms for combined parameter and state estimation in modern battery management systems. He was honored with the Continental Auto-Motivated Award and recognized as top student of his year with the Siemens Energy Award.
He completed his doctorate at the Institute for Materials in Electrical Engineering (IAM-WET) at KIT, graduating summa cum laude. He researched the low frequency behavior of NMC cathodes and aging of lithium-ion-batteries in an industry project with an automotive manufacturer. For his doctoral thesis, he received the Carl Freudenberg Prize.

CONTACT

Are you interested or do you have questions? Please contact us!

© 2019 Batemo GmbH
Legal Notice | Data Privacy Statement

Wir sind auf hoch­präzise Simulations­software für Lithium-Ionen-Batterien spezialisiert. Ob Smart­phone, Akku­schrauber oder E-Bike – unsere Software löst zentrale Problem­stellungen der Batterie­system­entwicklung. Dies beinhaltet die schnelle und fundierte Beantwortung typischer Fragen:

  • Welche Zell­technologie ist für eine spezifische Anwendung am besten geeignet?
  • Wie sieht das optimale Batterie­pack­design aus?
  • Mit welchen Betriebs­strategien wird die Lebens­dauer der Batterie erhöht?
  • Wie werden innovative Schnell­lade­verfahren entwickelt?
  • Wie wird in komplexen Gesamt­systemen der sichere Betrieb unter allen Umständen garantiert?

TECHNOLOGIE

Unsere Software basiert auf dem Grund­gedanken, alle relevanten Vorgänge in Lithium-Ionen-Batterien präzise zu beschreiben und virtuell abzubilden. Das ist hoch­kompliziert: Physikalische, chemische und thermo­dynamische Prozesse sind betriebs­bedingungs- und alterungs­abhängig komplex verkoppelt. Alles passiert gleich­zeitig und läuft auf unter­schiedlichen Längen- und Zeit­skalen ab: in Elektroden­partikeln, die nur wenige Mikro­meter groß sind, bis hin zu Abläufen im Zentimeter­bereich auf Zell- und Pack­größe. Manche Prozesse dauern dabei nur wenige Milli­sekunden, andere benötigen Monate.

­

Unsere Kunden erhalten unsere Modelle als angepasste Software für ihre gewohnte Entwicklungs­umgebung. Durch optimierte Parametrierungs­verfahren passen wir unsere Modelle schnell und unkompliziert an kunden­spezifische Zellen an und weisen die Modell­validität nach. Durch flexible Schnitt­stellen und Simulations­zeiten im Sekunden­bereich fügt sich unsere Software nahtlos in die industriellen Forschungs- und Entwicklungs­prozesse unserer Kunden ein.

physikalische
Zellmodelle

Unsere Modelle beschreiben nicht nur das Ver­halten der Zelle, sondern bilden alle relevanten physikalischen Vor­gänge immer präzise ab, selbst unter extremen Bedingungen, wenn her­kömmliche Batterie­modelle versagen: bei hohen Strömen, hohen und niedrigen Lade­zuständen und im gesamten Temperatur­bereich.

umfassende
Analysen

Unsere Software stellt für die Batterie­system­entwicklung hoch­relevante Informationen bereit, die auf anderen Wegen nicht zugänglich sind. Beispiele sind die Temperatur- und Lade­zustands­verteilung der Zelle oder die Lage der Halb­zellen­potentiale. Die Kenntnis dieser Größen ermöglicht die gezielte Ver­hinderung von Alterung, z.B. durch Lithium-Plating.

unterschiedliche
Alterungsmechanismen

Unsere Modelle berücksichtigen unter­schiedliche Alterungs­mechanismen und können so das Ver­halten gealterter Zellen realistisch vorher­sagen.

nachgewiesene
Validität

Industrielle Forschung und Entwicklung lässt sich nur dann modell­gestützt durchführen, wenn die zugrunde­liegenden Modelle valide sind. Für die Zellen unserer Kunden weisen wir daher stets die Modell­validität nach und quanti­fizieren in ausführlichen Mess­reihen die Modell­genauigkeit.

kundenspezifische
Parametrierung

Wir parametrieren unsere Modelle schnell und un­kompliziert spezifisch für die Zellen unserer Kunden.

einfache
Bedienung

Die Bedienung unserer Software ist intuitiv und einfach. Durch unser grafisches Inter­face können komplexe Frage­stellungen schnell be­antwortet werden, ob von Batterie­experten, Funktions­entwicklern oder Praktikanten.

flexible
Schnittstellen

Die Integration unserer Modelle in die Entwicklungs­umgebungen unserer Kunden ist einfach möglich. Über flexible Schnitt­stellen können Anfangs- und Rand­bedingungen für Einzel­zellen oder Packs beliebig vorgegeben werden. So erlauben unsere Modelle unter­schiedlichste Simulationen.

kurze
Simulationszeiten

Unsere Modelle werden bei maximaler Präzision und hoher Detail­tiefe selbst auf normalen Arbeits­platz-PCs im Bereich weniger Sekunden simuliert. Die Arbeit mit unserer Software ist so ohne störende Warte­zeiten möglich.

VORTEILE

Als Start-up arbeiten wir derzeit für aus­gewählte Leit­kunden aus Deutsch­land. Unsere Kunden setzen unsere Soft­ware als virtuelle Batterien ein und sparen sich auf­wendige und lang­wierige Messungen. Ihre Batterie­system­entwicklung ist konsequent modell­gestützt, wird dadurch schneller, flexibler, sicherer und führt zu besseren Produkten. So leisten wir unseren Beitrag zum Erfolg unserer Kunden.

Technologievorsprung
ausbauen

Mit unserer Software lassen sich Innovations­potentiale neuer Ideen unkompliziert bewerten und komplexe Funktionen deutlich schneller entwickeln. Unsere Kunden bauen so ihren Technologie­vorsprung aus.

Sicherheit
erhöhen

Unsere Kunden überwachen ihre Batterien während des Betriebs. Ihre Sicherheits­funktionen entwickeln sie mit unserer Software, erkennen kritische Betriebs­zustände früh­zeitig und entwerfen maß­geschneiderte Strategien, um den sichereren Betrieb unter allen Bedingungen zu gewähr­leisten.

Ladestrategien
entwickeln

Batterien werden in vielen Applikationen schnell auf­geladen und dürfen dabei keinen Schaden nehmen. Mit unserer Soft­ware ent­wickeln unsere Kunden alterungs­minimale Schnell­lade­ver­fahren für ihre Batterie­packs.

Systemkomplexität
beherrschen

Häufig werden Batterie­packs mit verschiedenen Lade­geräten und in unter­schiedlichen Applikationen betrieben. Unsere Kunden stellen mit unserer Software die Bau­kasten­kompatibilität simulations­basiert sicher.

Marktanteil
erhöhen

Unsere Kunden platzieren neue Technologien früh­zeitig am Markt. Unsere Software hilft ihnen Innovations­ideen bei hoher Qualität äußerst schnell zur Markt­reife zu führen. So verbessern sie die markt­relevanten Produkt­eigenschaften, differenzieren sich von der Konkurrenz und erhöhen ihren Markt­anteil.

Testzeit
verkürzen

Unsere Simulationen sind bedeutend schneller als Echtzeit­tests. Daher führen unsere Kunden umfassende simulations­basierte Test­szenarien mit einzelnen Zellen, Batterie­packs und Gesamt­systemen in einem Bruch­teil der Zeit durch.

Entwicklungsrisiken
minimieren

Mit unserer Software können bereits während des System­designs einzelne Funktionen und Sub­systeme umfassend getestet werden. Unsere Kunden erkennen Design­fehler dadurch früh­zeitig und senken die Fehler­wahrschein­lichkeit in ihrer Design- und Produktions­validierung signifikant.

Entwicklungskosten
senken

Unsere Software senkt die Kosten der Batterie­system­entwicklung an zahl­reichen Stellen. Beispiels­weise reduzieren unsere Kunden den Aufwand des Prototypen­baus, sparen sich umfassende Labor­messungen und verkürzen die Entwicklungs­zeit.

Alterung verhindern

Know-How ausbauen

innovative Ladestrategien entwickeln

komplexe Systeme beherrschen

max. Performance ohne Sicherheitskompromisse

neue Funktionen entwickeln

automatisiert und schnell testen

Entwicklungszeiten und -kosten senken

UNTERNEHMEN

Die Batemo GmbH wurde im März 2017 durch Dr.-Ing. Michael Schön­leber und Dr.-Ing. Jan Richter als voll­ständig eigen­finanziertes Unter­nehmen in Karls­ruhe gegründet. Die Gründer:



Dr.-Ing. Jan Richter hat am Karls­ruher Institut für Techno­logie (KIT) Elektro- und Informations­technik studiert. Er ver­tiefte sich mit dem Fokus Elektro­mobilität in den Themen­feldern elektro­chemische Energie­speicherung, Leistungs­elektronik und elektrische Maschinen. Im Studium war er jeweils für ein halbes Jahr am Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics in China und in den USA für Mercedes-Benz Research & Development North America tätig.
Seine Promotion absolvierte er mit Auszeichnung am Elektro­technischen Institut (ETI) des KIT über die Modell­bildung, Parameter­identifikation und Regelung hoch aus­genutzter Synchron­maschinen. Für seine Forschung wurde er mit dem PCIM Young Engineer Award aus­gezeichnet. Im Rahmen seiner Tätig­keiten ent­wickelte er für einen Tier-1 Automobil­zulieferer ein modell­gestütztes Entwicklungs­werkzeug für Leistungs­elektronik und Elektro­motoren. Im Studium und der Promotion war er Stipendiat der Studien­stiftung des deutschen Volkes.


Dr.-Ing. Michael Schön­leber hat am Karls­ruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) Elektro- und Informations­technik studiert und die Schwer­punkte seines Studiums auf Elektro­chemie und System­theorie mit dem Fokus Lithium-Ionen-Batterien gelegt. Während des Studiums war er im Batterie­bereich für ein Jahr für die Robert Bosch LLC in den USA tätig. Ausgezeichnet wurde er mit dem Continental Auto-Motivated Student Award und als Jahrgangs­bester des Diplom­studiengangs mit dem Siemens Energy Award.
Seine Promotion absolvierte er mit Aus­zeichnung am Institut für Werk­stoffe der Elektro­technik (IAM-WET) des KIT. Er beschäftigte sich wissen­schaftlich mit dem Nieder­frequenz­verhalten von NMC-Kathoden und der Alterung von Lithium-Ionen-Batterien in einem Industrie­projekt mit einem Automobil­hersteller. Für seine Promotion wurde er mit dem Carl-Freudenberg-Preis ausgezeichnet.

KONTAKT

Haben wir Ihr Interesse geweckt oder haben Sie Fragen? Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns!

© 2018 Batemo GmbH
Impressum | Datenschutz